Texas Private Cloud

On this page:

Read about Private Cloud Data Centers

Learn about Service Levels

Data Centers 

The Texas Private Cloud maintains two consolidated data centers, geographically separated to provide disaster recovery, and provides technology infrastructure compute and storage based on standard reference models and managed services options.  

Facilities Information

The state consolidated data centers have an Uptime Institute Tier 2 Level Rating and is fully compliant with FBI Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) requirements, Texas State Auditor requirements, annual SSAE 16 audits, and biannual IRS audits.  The data centers have 24 hour on-site security protection and on-line building management systems providing ‘real-time’ interactive environmental monitoring. 

Service Levels  

Fully-managed or Semi-managed support services are available for all compute platforms with multiple service levels: 

  • Fully Managed - Premier Plus 
  • Fully Managed - Premier 
  • Semi Managed - Standard 
  • Limited Managed – Sandbox 

Fully Managed Private Cloud 

The Service Component Provider (SCP) is responsible for all aspects of the IaaS lifecycle, including 

  • Provisioning  

  • Ongoing operating system (OS) support 

  • Ongoing database and middleware support (where optional services are selected) 

  • Hardware maintenance 

  • Incident, change and customer service request tickets 

  • Service Catalog Requests 

  • Asset discovery and CMDB integration 

  • All base security functions (i.e. antivirus, patching, SIEM) 

  • Optional advanced security available  

Semi-Managed Private Cloud 

The customer is responsible for OS support and all application level support as summarized below. 

SCP Responsibilities 

  • Provisioning 
  • Acquiring, installing, and patching the OS 
  • Installing and maintaining antivirus protection 
  • Performing SIEM logging, critical watch reporting and security incident response 
  • Performing hardware container maintenance and reboots 
  • Responding to Incidents and Service Catalog Requests related to hardware 
  • Asset discovery and CMDB integration 

Customer Responsibilities 

  • OS management 
  • Monitoring 
  • Creating and managing Incidents, Change Requests, and Service Catalog Requests  

Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS) 

Disaster Recovery as a Service is provided to customers who have a local data center but require a geographically diverse location for their disaster recovery site.   This offering provides business continuity through testing and restoration of servers in the state’s consolidated data centers.  The offering includes: 

  • Regular (as defined by the user) backup of data 
  • A process by which authorized users can request recovery of data or files 
  • Reporting on backups provided via the Shared Technology Services portal  
  • Review backup schedule with Customer annually 
  • Provide annual disaster recovery testing 

Texas Private Cloud Services are delivered through a contract between the Texas Department of Information Resources and Atos. All DIR customers including state agencies, institutions of higher education, and local government entities are eligible to use the Texas Private Cloud Services contract.

About File Formats

Some documents on this page are in the PDF format. Please download the Adobe Reader in order to view these documents.