Certifying Training Programs

On this page:

Certified Programs

Apply for Training Program Certification

Course Certification Checklist

Certification Exceptions

2021-2022 Certified Programs 

The list of certified training programs for FY 21-22 is below, and valid until August 31, 2022. Please note that these programs are certified for content, not other regulatory or statutory obligations. 

2021-2022 Certified Programs

DIR has developed a certified training program, Cybersecurity Awareness Training. This video is being offered free of charge, to anyone who needs to meet the training requirements of Texas Government Code and based on each organization's preference.  

Cybersecurity Awareness Training FY 21-22 (English)

Cybersecurity Awareness Training FY 21-22 (Spanish)

Apply for Training Program Certification 

Texas Government Code states that a cybersecurity training program must: 

  • Focus on forming information security habits and procedures that protect information resources; and 

  • Teach best practices for detecting, assessing, reporting, and addressing information security threats. 

Certifications are valid until August 31 and need to be renewed annually. 

Applications for FY 21-22 training program certifications are no longer being accepted. The next application period will be June 1, 2022 - July 31, 2022. 

Course Certification Checklist 

The purpose of this checklist is to assess and determine whether a state agency's, local government's, or vendor's cybersecurity awareness training program meets the minimum requirements for certification under Texas Government Code.  This detailed certification criteria is based on the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) Framework

FY 21-22 Security Awareness Training Program Certification Standards (PDF 204KB) 

About File Formats

Some documents on this page are in the PDF format. Please download the Adobe Reader in order to view these documents.